Bye-elections: APC sets up committees to conduct primaries in Lagos, Ondo and others (full list)

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has formed committees to monitor primaries to fill vacancies in both national and state assemblies. These committees will manage primaries in nine states ahead of the February 3 midterm elections.

The primaries will take place in Lagos, Ondo, Kebbi, Taraba, Yobe, Benue, Kaduna, Ebonyi and Borno states.

Most of the vacancies arose as a result of the appointment of members of the National Assembly to leadership positions by President Bola Tinubu. Five sitting members were appointed to his cabinet, including the Minister of Public Works, Dave Umahi, Minister of Police Affairs, Ibrahim Gaidam, Chief of Staff Femi Gbajabiamila, Minister of Home Affairs, Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo, and Minister of State for Education, Tanko Sununu. .

Umahi and Gaidam represented Ebonyi South and Yobe East respectively in the Senate, while Gbajabiamila served as a lawmaker for Surulere I Federal Constituency of Lagos State. Sununu and Tunji-Ojo were members of the House of Representatives representing Yauri/Shanga/Ngaski Federal Constituency of Kebbi State and Akoko North East/Akoko North West Federal Constituency of Ondo State respectively.

There is also a vacancy in Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency of Taraba State following the death of Isma'ila Maihanchi.

There are vacancies in the state assemblies of Kaduna, Benue and Borno states.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) last month released a timetable for these by-elections and reruns, with party primaries and dispute resolutions scheduled from January 5 to 9.

Committees for Ebonyi State

The seven-member screening committee for Ebonyi State is chaired by Smart Iheasor with Ifeanyi Egwim as secretary of the committee.

Other members include Edele Oketa, Thomas Shagbaor, Attah Moh, Opeyemi Akinsiju and Ramatu Abubakar.

The five-member appellate committee is chaired by Aliyu Kunde and Jennifer Adike as secretary, while the district primary election committee is chaired by Akin Akinsehinwa and Prince Eze as secretary.

Yobe State

To manage the primaries in Yobe East, the party has set up four committees: the Screening Committee, the Screening Committee, the Preliminary Election Committee and the Primaries Appeal Committee.

The screening committee is chaired by Joshua Lidani, a former senator, and Maikudi Giade as secretary. The screening appeal committee is also chaired by Baba Ajimi and Ibrahim Dika as secretary.

On the other hand, the primary election committee is chaired by Ibrahim Masari and Ibrahim Jalo as secretary.


The primaries to fill the vacancy in Surulere I Federal Constituency will be conducted by a five-member committee chaired by Buba Yusuf, while Dapo Lam-Adeshina will serve as secretary. Messrs Yusuf and Lam-Adesina are both former members of the House of Representatives.

The seven-member screening committee is chaired by Hakeem Okunade as secretary.

Gbajabiamila served as a member of the House of Representatives for 20 years until he resigned in June 2023 to take up the role of chief of staff.

In addition to the by-elections, the commission also holds re-elections in 35 constituencies, which result from the rulings of the various election tribunals.

View the full list below

Story continues below ad

Whatsapp NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp Channel and receive News updates directly on WhatsApp!

Whatsapp NEW: Click “HERE” to join our Telegram Channel and receive News updates directly on Telegram!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.