Court of Appeal confirms four elections for PDP representatives in Sokoto

The Court of Appeal has upheld the decision of the Abuja Division to uphold the election of four party members to the House of Representatives, the Peoples Democratic Party, Sokoto State chapter.

Hassan Sayinnawal, the party's state spokesperson, sent journalists a statement on Saturday that included this information.

The statement reads: “Our major party, the PDP in Sokoto State, wishes to express our joy at the victory of the party’s candidates in the 2023 National Assembly elections at the Court of Appeal of Nigeria.

“We would like to congratulate the following members of the PDP for having their mandates upheld at the end of the legal process.

” Mani Katami – Binji Silame Federal Constituency; Abdussamad Dasuki – Kebbe – Tambuwal Federal Constituency; Sa'idu Bargaja: – Isa – Sabon-Birni Federal Constituency and Bashir Gorau – Goronyo Gada Federal Constituency.

TRENDING   2024: Crisis rocks APC as trimming of candidates for governor leads to chaos

“The PDP views this development as a testament to the trust and support the teeming electorate of Sokoto State places in our party and its candidates, and the preference of the masses of our dear state for our purpose-driven, progressive philosophy of governance.

“Our party urges the people to maintain their support for our shared lofty ideals and maintain confidence that their mandate, which was clearly reflected in the 2023 elections, will be saved and upheld through the ongoing judicial processes at all levels .”

The All Progressives Congress candidate, who was declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission, lost to the party's candidate in Binji/Silame Federal Constituency, Mani Katami, who was crowned the winner by the Court of Appeal in the 2023 general election .

TRENDING   ALERT!!!President Buhari and Chairman Dogara in meeting behind closed doors

Moreover, the court on Saturday confirmed the election of Abdulsamad Dasuki and Bashir Gorau. They will represent Kebbe/Tambuwal and Gada/Goronyo federal constituencies respectively.

The APC member, the late Hon. Abdukadir Jelani Dambuga, who held the seat until his death about two months ago, was defeated by party candidate Saidu Bargaja, who was also declared the winner by the court for the Isa/Sabon Burmi Federal Constituency.

Meanwhile, the Court of Appeal on Saturday ruled that the election of Umar Yabo, a PDP representative for the federal seat of Yabo/Shagari, was inconclusive and ordered a rerun in 26 of the constituency's polling stations.


Whatsapp NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp Channel and receive News updates directly on WhatsApp!

Whatsapp NEW: Click “HERE” to join our Telegram Channel and receive News updates directly on Telegram!

TRENDING   Ex-Ondo lawmaker declares governorship ambition

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *