Court of Appeal dismisses 11 PDP lawmakers, party loses control of Plateau Assembly (full list)

The Court of Appeal in Abuja on Friday dismissed eleven lawmakers of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Plateau state assembly.

The panel led by Justice Okon Abang unanimously ruled that all dismissed lawmakers at the time of the March 2023 general elections scored wasted votes because their party lacked structure.

He added that the PDP violated Section 177 of the 1999 Constitution and therefore could not sponsor candidates in elections.

However, the court declared all runners-up in the March 18 election winners.

Those who have been laid off; Hon Timothy Dantong (Riyom), Hon. Rimyat Nanbol, – (Langtang North Central), Moses Sule (Mikang), Salome Waklek, -Pankshin, Hon. Bala Fwangji (Mangu South), Hon. Maren Ishaku (Bokkos), Hon. Dagogot (Quaanpan North) and Nannim Langyi, – (Langtang North-North).

Others are Nimchak Rims (Langtang South) Hon. Danjuma Azi (Jos North West) Gwottson Fom (Jos South) and Hon. Abubakar Sani Idris (Mangu North)

Story continues below ad

The All Progressives Congress (APC) is now the leading party in parliament.

Follow us on Google

Journalism Standards © 2023 Naija News, a division of Polance Media Inc.

Whatsapp NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp Channel and receive News updates directly on WhatsApp!

Whatsapp NEW: Click “HERE” to join our Telegram Channel and receive News updates directly on Telegram!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.