PDP, APC, NNPC, candidates for Taraba by-election

For the Jalingo/Yoro/Zing Federal Constituency on February 3, 2024, the major political parties in Taraba States have put forward candidates.

The elections are being held to fill the void left by the demise of Hon. Ismaila Meihanchi, who died immediately after receiving a certificate of return for winning the constituency on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The All Progressives Congress (APC) selected Aminu Maleh, a two-term member of the House of Representatives, to represent the seat, while the PDP nominated Sadiq Tafida Abbas to lead its banner in the elections.

In the elections, Innocent Jabanyang was selected by the Social Democratic Party (SDP), while Aminu Liman was selected by the New Nigerian People's Party (NNPP).

LEADERSHIP found that the two main opposition parties, the NNPP and the APC, worked together to secure the seat, while the PDP was hard at work consolidating the framework the late Maihanchi used to win the election.

Speaking to reporters after his victory in the primaries, Abbas declared that the PDP was ready to hold on to the seat. He claimed that the ten candidates running against him had all made the decision to withdraw in the interests of unity and to put together a strong team that would defeat the other contenders in the by-elections.

Whatsapp NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp Channel and receive News updates directly on WhatsApp!

Whatsapp NEW: Click “HERE” to join our Telegram Channel and receive News updates directly on Telegram!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.